“Star Of Chanel”

Ella Alexander

26 July 2010

ANNA MOUGLALIS, the star of the new movie Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky, described Karl Lagerfeld as an invaluable resource in helping shape her role as Coco – despite his less than favourable reviews.

“When I discussed this with Karl he was very keen for me to show Coco’s humour but that was something the director didn’t want to do,” saidview.

   The French actress, who has worked with Chanel for eight years and is currently the face of the label’s Fine Jewellery, said that she feels as if she has been preparing for her role for years without even knowing it – but never dreamed she would ever end up playing the fashion legend.

“Because of the years of work I have done for Chanel I felt I could bring so much to the film – of course it was a huge part to take on but I was just so enthusiastic about it all,” she said. “I then read everything I could find on her, I studied videos and text and read lots of Colette just so I could get a feel for the era.”

   “I was one of the first to see the Tatou’s version,” she said. “I’m crazy about it but I can’t watch it as a spectator because I have worked with Chanel for so long – we have history. 

The film is released nationwide on August 6.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion Editorials

Leave a Reply

