Nigel Barker; Wyclef Jean; New York Fashion Week Fall 2011

Wyclef Jean and other front row guests answer the question, “When did you fall in love with fashion?” in our From the Front Row feature.

From the Front Row: When did you fall in love with fashion?

Wyclef Jean: When I met this one right here (pointing to his stylishly dressed wife, Claudinette)

Jennifer Love Hewitt: When I was seven, after seeing Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

Lynn Collins: When I was four years old, my mom was cleaning the house and she saw me come down the stairs more than 30 times, each time in a different outfit. My apartment is a big closet.

Tika Sumpter: In junior high school or high school, I always tried to look at fashion magazines.

Sophia Bush: As a kid, I would sit in my mom’s closet on the floor, watching her get dressed. Everything seemed so glamorous and effortless, even when she was wearing jeans and a t-shirt. I became enamored with fashion and realized there was an appropriate fashion for every mood and occasion.

Designer Did You Know: What was the first article of clothing you designed?

B Michael: Professionally a gown for the wife of a well known magazine publisher in the mid 90s … Black double faced silk crepe column gown with a tiered swing cut trumpet train in emerald and royal satin!

Paula Gerbase: A yellow handbag when I was 3 years old. I still have the sketch, done in felt tip pen.

Elene Cassis: Lace tank dress that was worn at the 2010 Grammy’s

Tess Giberson: Clothes for my dolls.

LUBLU Kira Plastinina: The first real article of clothing I have ever designed was a dress that I wore myself on my first fashion show. The first clothing I have ever designed was probably a clown outfit for my dog when I was just a kid.

Backstage Beauty: Fashion Finds Balance with Blowouts

With rich textiles and textures hitting the catwalk, beauty is simplified and sleek at Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week

As cotton takes a backseat to leathers, feathers, furs and more fun textures, keeping makeup and hair simple and stylish is a big trend for Fall 2011.

Tadashi Shoji balanced his gorgeous collection of fringed evening pieces with shiny and straight hair, and the runway style is already making its way to the real world. Kelly Osbourne was spotted in a crinkled silk chiffon Tadashi cocktail dress with a sleek blowout at the Grammy Awards this past weekend

For the new Cynthia Steffe collection, the TRESemmé Stylist Team created chic blowouts with hair down and pulled to one side. The look was young and fresh to complement designer Shaun Kearney’s sophisticated vision, which he described as “wearable modern opulence.”

To quickly refresh models backstage as they rushed from other shows, we applied TRESemmé Fresh Start Dry Shampoo before styling. The product removes buildup and rehydrates frizzy hair.

Guest Blog: Nigel Barker on Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week

(You may know Nigel as ” NOTED FASHION PHOTOGRAPHER,” on “AMERICAS NEXT TOP MODEL.”)

For over a decade, I’ve attended Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week here in New York. Although I’ll never forget the iconic tents of Bryant Park, this season’s historic move to Lincoln Center gave me much to look forward to.

On the eve of the event, ANTM premiered its most fashionable season yet, Cycle 15, which set the tone for the week: High fashion, top models, and high-fashion philanthropy! This MBFW season, I teamed up with Nine West for their initiative, “Runway Relief.” From go-sees and fittings to runways and after-parties, an army of ‘role’ models will wear Modelinia boots affixed with pedometers counting every step they take. For each mile these models strut, Nine West will donate $10 to the CDFA’s charity, Fashion Targets Breast Cancer. (Good thing the venue is 30 percent larger!) You can even get in on the action and sponsor your favorite model at Modelinia.com.

Now for my MBFW lineup! I began Friday night at Lord & Taylor for Fashion’s Night Out, photographing customers and signing copies of my new book, ‘Nigel Barker’s Beauty Equation.’ Saturday started with Cynthia Rowley then Jill Stuart. Cynthia’s collection was quirky and cool, and she also showcased her new line of designer Band-Aids! The Jill Stuart collection was a stand out as usual, feminine, sexy and effortless. Still ahead, I’ll be attending Tory Burch, Rosa Cha & Pamella Roland. I am lucky enough to shoot the Pamella Roland Ad campaigns, so I have a special affinity with that collection.

This particular season of MBFW is special to me because I am launching my book, “Nigel Barker’s Beauty Equation,” and the book’s websites, Beauty Equation and BE One, on Monday, September 13th, at 7:30PM, at Barnes & Noble at Lincoln Triangle. The book aims to erase the idea that to be beautiful, you need to be a retouched model. Rather, I hope to empower the reader to believe that their own individuality is what sets them apart, and that the lives we live make us special.

2 Comments

Filed under New York Fashion Week

2 responses to “Nigel Barker; Wyclef Jean; New York Fashion Week Fall 2011

  1. Thankyou for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting information.

Leave a Reply

